Sea Waves [IV] Cassandra Visits and Addressing the “Nevers”

This is the next posting about Cassandra’s visit. If you need to refresh your memory go to Sea Waves [I], Sea Waves [II], and Sea Waves [III]

Cassandra had arrived!

I’m here. I’m in the room. Just set my stuff down. There is a flower! Marty. I came to see you

I knew she had as I had followed her flight and saw it had landed right on time. But because of previous unavoidable commitments I was going to be unable to see her until the next morning. I had prebooked a room at the airport for her since her flight was so late to arrive. I wasn’t very happy about it, but Cassandra fully understood and soothed my feelings about it, reassuring me it would only help build the excitement. Of course, she was correct. I barely slept that night.

Early the next morning as I prepared, I noticed how often I stopped breathing. I think this is an automatic calming system I have. Otherwise I tend to go into excitement overdrive, and that is definitely a no-no.

As I drove out to the airport my mind wandered. I desperately tried to focus, but the adrenaline rush was frustratingly blocking my mind’s ability to concentrate.

Here’s probably a good time to interject this minor factoid:

Cassandra and I had never met! For real. In person.

Yes, we were one of those on-line couples, who had carried on a relationship comprised of 1s and 0s, and the occasional telephone conversation. You could most definitely term us internet lovers and the one fact remained … we had never met … never touched each other. Never felt the other’s breath on our skin. Never whispered in the other’s ear. Never sensed that emotional vibration through physical presence.

As I approached the hotel my heart began to flutter. Parking the car, I again tried to settle myself down. I shut down the engine and noticed, once again, I wasn’t breathing. I quickly walked to the hotel lobby and hit the up button for the elevator. Right then I began to notice a change. My nervousness had disappeared. I felt almost … serene.

One other little thing I should mention. There is a significant age difference between Cassandra and me. Now, I am partial to younger women, I confess. Much younger. But with Cassandra, I am pushing the age difference envelope way out there. It’s a factor.  How big a factor this would really be, I was about to discover..

The elevator doors opened on her floor and I headed down to the end of the hall to her room. Though I had a key, I knocked. I was ready for the next wave. It promised to be a big one

I didn’t have long to wait.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sea Waves [IV] Cassandra Visits and Addressing the “Nevers”

  1. Pingback: Sea Waves [V] Cassandra Visits. We Meet! | I Think You Earthlings Are Crazy

  2. Pingback: Sea Waves [VI] – Words and Scenes | I Think You Earthlings Are Crazy

  3. Pingback: Sea Waves [VII] Cassandra Visits … Aftermath | I Think You Earthlings Are Crazy

Don't be shy! Make a comment

