Marty Doesn’t Do Unpleasant

find_out_if_youre_narcissist_pm-thumb-270x270[1]I’m not a huge complainer, but sometimes events conspire to make me lose it. Right now I have a real big ugly eye on for women with NPD. Do you know what NPD is? Narcissistic Personality Disorder. Yes, I know there are plenty of male narcissists out there. But I’m not attracted to males. And this blog was not created to discuss my relationships with men.

I maybe jumping the gun here, because I’m no shrink. Not even a psychologist. But two women I have recently met are so far off the beam, that my alarm bells have been ringing non stop.

Now don’t get me wrong here. I realize we are all narcissists to some degree. But that’s the point isn’t it? The degree! These two women are ten alarmers! I even like some narcissistic tendencies in my women. I find it quite sexy. Cassandra is a prime example. She understands she’s gorgeous. She knows she has a brain to match any top scientist. And more charm than anybody I can think of. And I won’t even mention all her … ahem … talents either. So when she feels she needs to use them, she has no hesitation in doing so. And she knows they will have great affect. She’s narcissistic enough to have no doubt of the assets she has. But she has quite a bit of subtlety in her approach.

About two months ago at a multi-day function I was attending, a woman became attached to our group. Not that I minded an extra good looking woman as part of our entourage. Heck no! But it didn’t take long for me to be almost sickened by her displays of “me-me-me-me”.  Over 4 days she barely, and I mean BARELY, said a word … unless the topic was her or her children! Then the flood of “I”s, and “me”s was non ceasing. So after the first day of exposure to this, I completely shut down any interaction with this woman. I was polite. But I was curt, and in the end, I completely shunned her. As many of you may know, I’m not exactly a spring chicken, so encountering a mature woman so dramatically off the scale is a bit … weird. And unpleasant. And at my age and stage in life, I don’t do “unpleasant”. Hence, the shun.

But it aroused my curiosity. Here’s a bit from Wikipedia on NPD

Narcissistic Personality Disorder is characterized by an over-inflated sense of self-importance, as well as dramatic, emotional behavior that is in the same category as antisocial and borderline personality disorders.

A bit vague to be sure. But some other lines, again from Wikipedia, so reminded me of another woman I have recently encountered.

Symptoms of this disorder, as defined by the DSM-IV-TR, include:

  • Expects to be recognized as superior and special, without superior accomplishments
  • Expects constant attention, admiration and positive reinforcement from others
  • Envies others and believes others envy him/her
  • Is preoccupied with thoughts and fantasies of great success, enormous attractiveness, power, intelligence
  • Lacks the ability to empathize with the feelings or desires of others
  • Is arrogant in attitudes and behavior
  • Has expectations of special treatment that are unrealistic

These symptoms so remind me of another woman I have recently encountered, I just can’t ignore. She’s supposedly mature. And bright. And so NPD. And unpleasant.

Nope. Marty doesn’t do unpleasant.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Marty Doesn’t Do Unpleasant

  1. Cassandra must be a charmer 🙂
    Narcissistic people are energy vampires, they drain you…and if you fall for one, it takes YEARS to undo it, there are thousands of tentacles that attach to every pore and emotion you have and every time you think they are all unhooked, you are blindsided…and down the rabbit hole for tea you go…they know every trick to make you fall again….
    Good read
    )0(

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy! Make a comment

